The Kavli Prize

— for outstanding scientific research

This year three outstanding international scientific prizes in the fields of Nanoscience, Neuroscience and Astrophysics — the Kavli Prize — will be awarded for the first time. The winners of the 2008 Kavli prizes was announced in Oslo on May 28 and the prize ceremony will take place in Oslo Concert Hall on September 9. The prizes will be presented to the winners by HRH Crown Prince Haakon. Each prize consists of a scroll, a medal and a cash award of US $ 1 Million. The Kavli Prize will be awarded bi-annually.The Kavli Prize is established to recognize outstanding scientific research, honour highly creative scientists, promote public understanding of scientists and their work and foster international cooperation among scientists. The Kavli Prize
The Kavli Prize is initiated by the US based Kavli Foundation and its founder Fred Kavli. Mr. Kavli, a Norwegian born US citizen, is an entrepreneur and business leader, innovator and philanthropist dedicated to support research and education that has a long-term impact on the human condition.
Fred Kavli will make a presentation at the plenary session on Wednesday June 25 11:40 — 12:00The prizes will be awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in cooperation with the Foundation and the Norwegian Ministry of Research and Higher Education. The NorwegianAcademy is responsible for the entire process leading up to the awarding ceremony. 

Astrophysics: Maarten Schmidt, California Institute of Technology, US and Donald Lynden-Bell, University of Cambridge ,UK 
Neuroscience: Sten Grillner, Karoloniska Institutet , Sweden; Thomas Jessell, Columbia University, US and Pasko Rakic, Yale University, US
Nanoscience: Louis E. Brus, Columbia University, US and Sumio Iijama, Meijo University, Japan  

This year´s winners of the Kavli prizes are:

Thanks to kind support from the Kavli Prize, the PCST-10 organisation could announce a number of grants for participation in the PCST-10 conference. The local executive committee for the conference evaluated grant applications and gave priority to applicants from countries outside the OECD area, in particular science journalists and participants with a presentation, oral or poster, from these countries.